vortipond.blogg.se

Paul weller pet shop boys
Paul weller pet shop boys







paul weller pet shop boys

It’s a big part of life that not many other musicians will touch. It’s been noted that you write a lot of songs about bodily fluids. But I’ve definitely saved a special bit of hate for people who make crap music and pretend it’s brilliant. I don’t like people who try to pretend to be something they’re not. Jesus man, do you have any idea of what you’re saying!?! Do you have any concept of what the Wu-Tang Clan were and where they came from? It’s not a laughing matter. I bought the NME today because we’re in it and read about Sergio Pizzorno from Kasabian saying that he and Noel Fielding are talking about playing live shows together and how it will sound like a British Wu-Tang Clan. Tell us about something that’s pissed you off recently… Poor guy was just roaming the streets because he had nowhere to go. He did it to the band afterwards as well and eventually the police came. All of a sudden he tried to take the mic and so I calmly took it back off him and told him to leave. He wasn’t really bothering anyone, but then when we started playing he was accusing us of being racist. Before the show we were in the pub having something to eat and we saw him walking up and down the road and talking to himself. This guy was just one of the thousands roaming the streets. We were playing outside the front of the shop and there were a lot of homeless people out there. So what went down at Rough Trade on Record Store Day when someone from the crowd took offence and tried to grab the microphone off you? I’ve never even heard of The Hold Steady. I’d seen the film Dig! before, but that was all. It’s been getting me back into guitar music. I’ve also been listening to a lot of his stuff since, which I hadn’t really heard until a couple of weeks ago. I went to meet him at the Rescue Rooms when he was playing there in June. We’ve been speaking a lot and we’re releasing a record with him. He even did an album back in the nineties with the Union Jack on the cover. What is it that they see in your music, which on the surface feels very British?Īnton is a lovely bloke and I think he’s very interested in English culture as a whole. Quite a few American musicians have vocally shown support for the band recently including Kim Gordon (Sonic Youth), Anton Newcombe (Brian Jonestown Massacre), Craig Finn (The Hold Steady). You can either leave gracefully or I will block you.” So we send him back a message that said, “this music was born out of a hate for pretenders like you. I save my wrath for bands and musicians I don’t like repping us, such as Miles Kane. I don’t think I can really despise any fans - especially not our own. And i’m not that fussed by any.Īs the band grows do you think there’s a danger of attracting the kind of fans that you despise? But as for the rest, to be honest I’ve only recently started to have a quick listen when people mention that we sound like them. People have said Wu-Tang too, which I really like as I have listened to them a lot. I mean in truth, it was shit, but it worked - which probably is a bit like us. Original Pirate Material was a good album which I used to listen to a fair bit. Apart from The Pet Shop Boys, but that’s just because Andrew wears a baseball cap, and The Streets, who I actually really like. You’ve been compared to Suicide, The Fall, John Cooper-Clarke, The Streets and the Pet Shop Boys. We always knew what we were doing was good, but I guess we were just hoping for a fairytale to come true. There are people that have helped us though, like Steve Underwood at the Rammel Club and Simon Parfrement. I really resented that as they weren’t thinking about the music, they were just thinking about the career of it all. From the beginning I really resented people sucking up to those who would write about them or help get them exposure to a label. We had to wait until we were ready… until our music was ready. You’ve gone from relative obscurity to interviews with the broadsheets and national music press over the last twelve months.

paul weller pet shop boys

There were a few things that I needed to be educated on and over the last few years, thanks to good friends and my good wife, I have been. I just wanted to communicate that I was dysfunctional and quite amazed at how low I’d gotten in my life. I was trying to get across what I was going through at the time, but deep down I was aware of the fact that what I was saying was out of order. Before that I was very angry and misogynistic. After that we started making music together.

paul weller pet shop boys paul weller pet shop boys

He’d seen me before, playing solo at JamCafe under the name of Sleaford Mods. He was playing a record upstairs in The Chameleon, his remix of the George Michael song Careless Whisper, which I liked. What is it that makes you such a good combo?









Paul weller pet shop boys